Wallys ModCast

Been Creating Model Vehicles Since 1998

New Equipment

Finally,

I have gotten all my new equipment in for recording. It took a while to receive them in the mail and run to get the odds and ends (that I didn’t know I needed)  from around town. Then once i had everything i had to sit down and play with it to make sure sound levels were right. That the position of the microphone didn’t get in the way of my reading on the computer while recording.

I thought i had everything set just as i wanted it and was ready to start Episode 2. How wrong was I? Well I was thinking about making #2 and I really wanted to have an easier way to record. Like not have so much post production and play sounds, Intro, outro and sound effects while recording. So I found the right software (let me know if you would like to know what one I use) and i got sound effect ready to use and recorded some sound clips to use. Although when i played the sound I could not get it to record. Well i found out I need to run the sound out of my computer into my mixer and then back into my computer. Weird? I know. I was anxious to get started so last night i went and talked to my 13 year old brother in law who loves his karaoke player.  He had a 1/4 to 1/4 cable so that I could run my mixer to a 1/8 to 1/4 adapter into my headphones jack on my computer. Doing this i was able to record all the sound that my computer played. While still hearing it in my headphones (connected into my mixer)

Ok, So now i have all my equipment ready to record. As of tonight i have my outline written up and am ready for some quiet time around the house to do so. If there is anything that you would like to hear about on episode 2 this is the time to get it in.

So what did I get you ask?

AT2020 condenser microphone-

Microphone boom arm-

Decent Pop filter-

Alesis 4 USB Mixer-

 

So what does my setup look like?

 

 

 

 

January 27, 2012 Posted by | Life outside the Workshop | Leave a comment